NEW! Links from the Forbes Top 75 Websites For Your Career

Seven Things You Should Never Do During an Interview—an article in Business Insider

Alumni LinkedIn Group

To join the Western New England University Alumni group, you must be a member of LinkedIn. Members can click here. Not a member? Click here to join LinkedIn, and then type in “Western New England University Alumni” under “groups.”

Job Opportunities

As the economy recovers from the recession, your connections to Western New England University are more important than ever. Information on job opportunities provided by alumni can be found by clicking here.

Job-Seeking Strategies

For information on effective strategies for job seekers from Kim Kenney-Rockwal ’90/G’00, director of human resources at Health New England, click here.

Job and Career Links

Below are links, grouped by category, that will take you to various job and career sites. While the Web is an excellent source of information for jobs and careers, networking and using personal contacts is the most effective strategy for job seekers, especially for those over the age of 40, is advisable to use many resources in your employment search.

The Career Development Center is also an excellent resource for life-long career planning, occupational exploration, and job search strategies. The Center provides access to online job postings and enables alumni to post job openings. For more information, visit the Career Development Center online, call 413-782-1560, or email careercenter@wne.edu.

Organizations that are hiring: check out CNN.com articles on FBI recruiting and 13 companies that are looking for qualified professionals.



GENERAL CAREER SITES

Online Job Applications www.job-applications.com

Careers www.careers.org

CareerSearch v2.careersearch.net

Career.com www.career.com

CareerOneStop www.careeronestop.org

Jobster www.jobster.com

DirectEmployer.com www.jobcentral.com

Indeed www.indeed.com

Job Hunters Bible www.jobhuntersbible.com

Career Key www.careerkey.com

Job Accommodation Network www.jan.wvu.edu

Career-Intelligence www.career-intelligence.com

 

MISCELLANEOUS JOB SITES

Springfield area: Futureworks

BestJobs USA www.bestjobsus.com

Employment Spot www.employmentspot.com

JobStar www.jobstar.org

Career Builder jobs.careerbuilder.com

Top USA Jobs www.topusajobs.com

Alliance Abroad Group www.allianceabroad.com

Job Bank USA www.jobbankusa.com

Nation Job www.nationjob.com

Job Monkey (adventure jobs) www.jobmonkey.com

Jobshark (jobs in Canada) www.jobshark.com

Planet Recruit (jobs in England) www.planetrecruit.com

Joyjobs (teaching overseas) www.joyjobs.com

Monster www.monster.com

Topjobs (jobs in England) www.topjobs.co.uk

Workforce Diversity www.eop.com

USA Jobs.gov www.usajobs.gov

Yahoo Careers us.careers.yahoo.com

 

BUSINESS

Corporate Information www.corporateinformation.com

BizTech Network www.brint.com

A&T att.jobs

Superpages superpages.com

Industry Research Desk www.virtualpet.com/industry/rdindex2.htm

Thomas Regional Directory www.thomasnet.com

Allbusiness www.allbusiness.com

BizWeb www.bizweb.com

Monster College www.monstertrak.com

Jobs in Business www.dmoz.org/business

 

 

OVERSEAS/INTERNATIONAL

 

British Companies www.britishcompanies.co.uk

Europages www.europages.com

UltimateUKGuide www.yell.com/ucs/HomePageAction.do

 

RESEARCH

Newspapers www.newspapers.com

Money Magazine www.timeinc.net/fortune/services/careerops/

Sperling's Best Places www.bestplaces.net

Great Place to Work greatplacetowork.com

Quintessential Careers www.quintcareers.com

USA City Link www.usacitylink.com

Apartment Search  apartmentsearch.com

Guidestar (not for profit) www.guidestar.org

Jobsearch jobsearch.about.com

Aboutjobs www.aboutjobs.com

Fortune 100 Best Companies to Work For

 

MIDLIFE

Changing Course www.changingcourse.com

Find Your Spot (relocation) www.findyourspot.com

About Career Planning careerplanning.about.com/od/forwomenonly

Midlife Metamorphosis www.lessons4living.com/midlife.htm

Women at Work Network careers.womenatwork.com

 

WOMEN

Susanireland www.susanireland.com

Women's Executive Network www.wxnetwork.com

Advancing Women www.advancingwomen.com

Blue Suit Mom www.bluesuitmom.com

National Association of Professional Women www.napw.com

Networking www.bwni.com/?service=vpage/274

Self-employment www.womensmedia.com/new/self-employment

Career Women www.careerwomen.com

Women for Hire www.womenforhire.com

Women Job Search www.womenjobsearch.net

 

ADVERTISING & PUBLIC RELATIONS

AdvertisingAge adage.com/talentworks/

Advertising Media Internet Center www.amic.com/adjobs/

American Academy of Advertising www.aaasite.org

Advertising jobs Search engine www.webadvertisingjobs.com

NationJob, Inc. www.nationjob.com

MarketingJobs.com www.marketingjobs.com

Media Recruiter www.birschbachmedia.com

 

COMMUNICATIONS & MEDIA

Journalism Jobs www.journalismjobs.com/

Editor & Publisher www.editorandpublisher.com

Verizon www22.verizon.com/jobs/

News Jobs www.newsjobs.net

Silicon Graphics www.sgi.com/company_info/careers/

 

COMPUTING & HIGH TECH

Apple www.apple.com/jobs/us/

Computer related jobs www.computerwork.com

Hewlett-Packard h10055.www1.hp.com/jobsathp

IBM www-03.ibm.com/employment

Intel www.intel.com/jobs/index.htm?iid=ftr+jobs

Intuit about.intuit.com/careers

Microsoft www.microsoft.com/careers

The National Academies www7.nationalacademies.org/careers/

PitneyBowes MapInfo www.pb.com/careers/

Software/Systems Job Openings www.nationjob.com/computers

Sun Microsystems www.sun.com/corp_emp/index.html

Google  www.google.com/about/jobs

Facebook www.facebook.com/careers

EDUCATION & NON-PROFIT

Higher Ed Jobs www.higheredjobs.com

Higher Ed Morning jobs.higheredmorning.com/

Academic Employment Network www.academploy.com

Carney, Sandoe & Associates www.carneysandoe.com/services-job-seekers

Chronicle of Higher Education chronicle.com/jobs/

Chronicle of Philanthropy philanthropy.com/jobs.dir/jobsmain.htm

Community Career Center www.nonprofitjobs.org

Education Jobs Page www.nationjob.com

Guidestar www.guidestar.org

The Idealist www.idealist.org

Jobs in Academia www.job-hunt.org

K12 Jobs www.k12jobs.com

Non-Profit Career Network www.nonprofitcareer.com

Nonprofit Job Scoop ­www.nonprofitjobscoop.org

Teach for America www.teachforamerica.org

U.S. Department of Education jobsearch.edhires.ed.gov/

 

ENGINEERING & COMPUTER SCIENCE

Biomedical Engineering Jobs hum-molgen.org/positions

Institute of E & E Engineers www.ieee.org/web/careers/home/index.html

Software Personnel www.mindscope.com

 

ENTERTAINMENT & MEDIA

4 Entertainment Jobs www.4entertainmentjobs.com

Disney corporate.disney.go.com/careers/index.html

Entertainment Jobs www.entertainmentjobs.com

Entertainment Careers www.entertainmentcareers.net

ESPN Jobs www.joinourteam.espn.com

International Film & Television www.mandy.com/1/filmtvjobs.cfm

Media & Entertainment www.showbizjobs.com

SONY Jobs discover.store.sony.com/sonyjobs

WB Careers www.warnerbroscareers.com

 

FINANCE

Bank of America careers.bankofamerica.com

Fed. Reserve Bank of Boston www.bos.frb.org/about/employment

Charles Schwab www.aboutschwab.com/careers/

Citigroup careers.citigroup.com/Careers

Fidelity jobs.fidelity.com/

Goldman, Sachs & Co. www2.goldmansachs.com/careers/index.html

JPMorgan http://careers.jpmorgan.com/student/jpmorgan/careers

Morgan Stanley www.morganstanley.com/about/careers/index.html

Northwestern Mutual Life www.nmfn.com/tn/careers--corp--join_our_team

 

GOVERNMENT & PUBLIC POLICY

Gateway to Federal Jobs  https://www.usajobs.gov/

CIA www.cia.gov/careers/index.html

Federal Communications Commission www.fcc.gov/jobs/

Peace Corps www.peacecorps.gov

Social Security Administration www.ssa.gov/careers/

US House of Representatives www.house.gov/cao-hr

US Securities & Exchange www.sec.gov/jobs.shtml

US Treasury www.ustreas.gov/organization/employment/

White House www.whitehouse.gov/oa/jobs/

Call to Serve www.calltoserve.org

Best Government Jobs www.bestplacestowork.org

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives http://www.atf.gov/content/Careers/careers-at-ATF

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention www.cdc.gov/

Department of Homeland Security www.dhs.gov/

Internal Revenue Service www.irs.ustreas.gov/

U.S. Secret Service http://www.secretservice.gov/opportunities.shtml

The Washington Post Job Search washingtonpost.com/wl/jobs/home

 

 

HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Mayo Online Career Center www.mayoclinic.org/jobs

MVP Health Plan www.mvphealthplan.com

NIH Jobs www.jobs.nih.gov

Pharmaceutical Jobs www.pharmaopportunities.com

Social Work and Social Services www.socialworker.com

Aetna www.aetna.com/working

Western Connecticut Health Network http://jobs.westernconnecticuthealthnetwork.org/

 

FORBES TOP CAREER WEBSITES

About.com/Careers www.about.com/careers

Betts Recruiting bettsrecruiting.com

Big Interview biginterview.com

CareerBliss.com www.careerbliss.com

Career Change Central careerchangecentralllc.com

Career Copilot www.careercopilot.com

Career Girl Network careergirlnetwork.com

Careers in Government careersingovernment.com

Come Recommended comerecommended.com

Dice.com www.dice.com

Doostang doostang.com

eFinancialCareers efinancialcareers.com

enternships enternships.com

Escape the City escapethecity.org

Evil HR Lady evilhrlady.org

Fresh Transition freshtransition.com

Give A Grad A Go giveagradago.com

Give to Get Jobs givetogetjobs.com

Glassdoor glassdoor.com

Hoojobs hoojobs.com

Inside Jobs insidejobs.com

Internships.com www.internships.com

InternMatch internmatch.com

Intern Queen internqueen.com

Interviewing.com www.interviewing.com

Just Jobs Academy academy.justjobs.com

KindredHQ kindredhq.com

Life After College lifeaftercollege.org

LinkedIn linkedin.com

LinkUp linkup.com

ManpowerGroup manpowergroup.com

Media Bistro mediabistro.com

One Day One Job onedayonejob.com

Payscale payscale.com

Resume Writers Ink. resumewritersink.com

Salary.com www.salary.com

Simply Hired simplyhired.com

SpringTern springtern.com

StartUpHire startuphire.com

Stiletto Woman stilettowoman.com

The Daily Muse thedailymuse.com

The Work At Home Woman theworkathomewoman.com

Tweet My Jobs tweetmyjobs.com

Vault vault.com

The Wall Street Journal Careers page online.wsj.com/public/page/news-career-jobs

YouTern youtern.com