Jump to Footer

Pharmacy Accreditation

Public Disclosure of Accreditation Status

The Western New England University Doctor of Pharmacy program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, 135 South LaSalle Street, Suite 4100, Chicago, IL 60503, 312/664-3575; FAX 312/664-4652, web site www.acpe-accredit.org.

Accreditation Disclosure Explanation

The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredits Doctor of Pharmacy programs offered by Colleges and Schools of Pharmacy in the United States and selected non-US sites. For a Doctor of Pharmacy program offered by a new College or School of Pharmacy, ACPE accreditation generally involves three steps: Precandidate accreditation status, Candidate accreditation status, and Full accreditation status. Precandidate accreditation status denotes a developmental program that is expected to mature in accord with stated plans and within a defined time period. Precandidate accreditation status is awarded to a new program of a College or School of Pharmacy that has not yet enrolled students in the professional program and authorizes the program to admit its first class. Candidate accreditation status is awarded to a Doctor of Pharmacy program that has students enrolled but has not yet had a graduating class. Full accreditation status is awarded to a program that has met all ACPE standards for accreditation and has graduated its first class. Graduates of a class designated as having Candidate accreditation status have the same rights and privileges of those graduates from a fully accredited program. ACPE conveys its decisions to the various boards of pharmacy and makes recommendations in accord with its decisions. It should be noted, however, that decisions concerning eligibility for licensure by examination or reciprocity reside with the respective state boards of pharmacy in accordance with their state statutes and administrative rules.

The accreditation term granted for the Doctor of Pharmacy program extends until June 30, 2021, which represents the customary four-year accreditation term following the awarding of an initial two-year term of accredited status in June 2015. The academic year for the next currently scheduled review of the Doctor of Pharmacy program for purposes of continued accreditation is 2020-2021. This schedule is contingent upon maintenance of the presently observed quality during the stated accreditation term. The ACPE Board of Directors reserves the right to revise its accreditation action or to alter these dates based upon monitoring, such as written reports and/or focused on-site reviews as may be scheduled during the accreditation term stated above.

For an explanation of ACPE accreditation process, consult the office of the Dean (413-796-2300) or ACPE (www.acpe-accredit.org). This website will be regularly updated to reflect any changes in status.

On-Time Graduation Rate

The on-time graduation rate for the most recent graduating classes are presented below:

Class of 2015

Class of 2016

Class of 2017

Entering Class Size




On-Time Graduation Rate

69 (92.0%)

66 (88.0%)

66 (86.8%)

Total Graduation Rate

71 (94.7%)

71 (94.7%)

66 (86.8%)

Students Still Eligible to Graduate




Information accurate as of August 11th, 2017

Licensing Examination Pass Rates

Pass rates for first-time test takers of the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) for the most recent graduating class (the Class of 2017) was 75.7% (53/70).

Measures of Student Achievement

At graduation, the employment rate for the Class of 2017 within the profession of pharmacy was 90%.
Fourteen graduates from the Class of 2017 (20%) landed post-graduate residency programs or fellowships; the match rate for students entering the match was equal to the national average.

During the 2016-2017 academic year, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences learners were recognized regionally and nationally for their accomplishments. Below are some of these accomplishments:

Kylie Josefiak [Class of 2019] was named a Walmart Scholar, a competitive nationwide scholarship award for students who have demonstrated a strong interest in enhancing their preparation for a career in academic pharmacy.

Megan Bankert [Class of 2018] was selected by the National Association of Chain Drug Stores to represent Massachusetts at the RxIMPACT Day on Capitol Hill event in Washington, DC in March 2017.

Kristy Nguyen [Class of 2017] was a recipient of the United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award, a competitive nationwide award.

Shelley Kusnierz [Class of 2019] was a recipient of the Massachusetts Pharmacists Association Foundation Scholarship.