Jump to Footer

Transfer Scholarships

The Transfer Distinction Award
Great News for Transfer Students with an Associate’s Degree! You already qualify for our Transfer Distinction Award.

Your associate’s degree and a 2.5 GPA now guarantees you our highest transfer scholarship of $18,000 a year through our Transfer Distinction Award.

You Have Spoken and We Have Listened!

As a result of the feedback we have received from our community college partners and students, we are pleased to announce a new Transfer Distinction Award, guaranteeing all qualifying recipients with our maximum $18,000 per year transfer merit scholarship. The $18,000 Transfer Distinction Award will be awarded automatically to any student with an associate’s degree and a 2.5 GPA from an accredited institution.

Phi Theta Kappa recipients can receive an additional $2,000 per year, guaranteeing your total award of $20,000 every year you maintain the GPA specified on your offer of admission from Western New England University.


  • You must have or will earn an associate’s degree before enrolling at Western New England University
  • You must have a 2.50 or better cumulative GPA from any/all institutions attended
  • You must meet the Admissions requirements for your chosen major.
  • You must be enrolling as a full-time student.

So what are you waiting for? Contact us for more information on how you can take advantage of this incredible new opportunity or apply today.

For questions about the Transfer Distinction Award, contact Michael Russell, Director of Transfer Admissions at michael.russell@wne.edu or 413-782-1590.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Merit Transfer Scholarships
Eligibility for the Merit Transfer Scholarships is normally based only on grades for college-level courses, usually referred to as 100-level (or higher) courses. A composite college GPA will be calculated for students who attended more than one college. 

Students who have at least a 3.50 GPA will usually be considered for an $18,000 merit scholarship while students whose GPA is 2.5-3.49 will usually be considered for a $13,000 merit scholarship. Students admitted with a GPA below 2.5 will be considered for a $11,000 grant.

Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship 
We also offer an additional $2,000 to students who are members of Phi Theta Kappa at their community college and have a 3.00 or higher composite GPA from all institutions previously attended. To be eligible, students must matriculate immediately following completion of their two-year college degree.