Instructions for Students Coming to Campus Currently Living Outside Most New England States, New York and New Jersey
Updated August 17, 2020
(Original July 27, 2020)
Please be aware that effective August 1, Massachusetts is ordering travelers who enter the state to self-quarantine for 14 days OR produce results of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival, unless they are coming from one of the following lower risk states: Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, New York, New Jersey or Hawaii. (See: Mass.gov Covid-19 Travel Order)
This applies to new and current students currently residing outside of New York, New Jersey, Hawaii or one of the New England states. You are required to complete an online Massachusetts Travel Form before entering the state.
To comply with the order, please bring the required test results on your scheduled move in day OR you may arrive early to campus to self-quarantine 14 days before classes begin.
- Undergraduate and graduate students who need to quarantine and have classes that begin on August 31 can arrive on August 17.
- First year Law, OTD and Pharmacy students who need to quarantine and have orientation that begins on August 24 or 25 can arrive on August 10.
- Other students who need to quarantine and are already approved for early arrival can be accommodated earlier than their previously approved early arrival date if requested.
- Students will self-quarantine in their regular housing assignment.
To request early arrival for self-quarantine, email firstname.lastname@example.org at least five business days prior to your planned arrival. Sooner is better.
Please note that you will not be given your room key or be allowed to move into campus housing until you have been tested for COVID-19 by WNE Health Services OR you produce the acceptable negative COVID-19 test results taken within 72 hours of your arrival. (The test must be an FDA EUA-approved molecular [PCR] SARS-CoV2 test. Serology tests will not be accepted.)
If you arrive on campus after testing hours (8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.) on your scheduled move-in date, you will need to make other housing arrangements until the next business day.
If self-quarantining, you should remain in your room or apartment assignment and avoid leaving your space and going out in public unless necessary. If you leave your space, you must follow all University COVID-19 protocols including wearing a face covering and maintaining six-feet social distancing.
Self-quarantining is a personal decision. Students are expected to take it seriously and must manage their arrival and quarantine time appropriately. Blatant disregard during self-quarantine puts others in the community at risk and could result in accountability under the Student Code of Conduct.
If you have any questions about arriving early on campus to quarantine or about move-in, please contact the Office of Residence Life at 413-782-1317 or email@example.com.