Jump to Footer

Summer 2020 Workshops

Here's the schedule of summer 2020 workshops and presentations in support of excellence in teaching online or hybrid courses using educational technologies. All are delivered via Zoom.

The Center for Teaching and Learning section contains the COMPLETE schedule for the summer.

The schedules for educational technology workshops including Kodiak, Echo360, Zoom, and Office 365  are for AUGUST ONLY.  For the record, this was June 2020's schedule and this was July 2020's schedule.

 

Kodiak, Echo360, Zoom, Office365

 

ONE-ON-ONE CONSULTATIONS VIA  ZOOM

The Ed Tech team (Sharon Benoit, Rich Pont, and Steve Narmontas) plus Occupational Therapy's Justin Eck and Pharmacy's Quan Wei are available to meet with you to help with Kodiak, Echo360, or Zoom.  To schedule an appointment, email edtech@wne.edu with two or three dates and times you're available to meet on Zoom, plus a description of what you'd like to learn more about.

One of us will get back to you ASAP to confirm a meeting time and to give you the Zoom URL


ONEDRIVE OVERVIEW

OneDrive is Microsoft’s online cloud storage platform available to all WNE faculty and students. It provides 1 TB of storage and safely syncs and stores files of all types, allowing you to work from anywhere, on any device. It also serves as a collaboration tool, allowing several people to edit Office documents online simultaneously, and as a document management tool, with automatic version history tracking.

Monday Aug 3, 9AM
Tuesday, Aug 11, 9AM
Wednesday Aug 19, 9AM
Thursday Aug 27, 9AM

RSVP Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu for the Zoom meeting room URL.


MS WHITEBOARD

Microsoft Whiteboard, a component of the newly available Office 365 platform, is a free-form digital canvas.

Tuesday Aug 4, 9AM
Thursday Aug 20, 9AM

RSVP Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu for the Zoom meeting room URL


MS FORMS

Microsoft Forms, a component of the newly available Office 365 platform, lets you easily create surveys, quizzes, and polls.

Wednesday Aug 5, 9AM
Thursday Aug 13, 9AM
Tuesday Aug 18, 9AM

RSVP Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu for the Zoom meeting room URL


MS OFFICE LENS

Office Lens turns your phone or tablet into a digital scanner. You can use Office Lens to convert images to PDF, Word and PowerPoint files, and you can even save images to OneDrive.

Wednesday Aug 12, 9AM
Wednesday Aug 26, 9AM

RSVP Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu for the Zoom meeting room URL


KODIAK DISCUSSIONS

Kodiak’s Discussions tool can be used to foster a sense of community and connection between instructors and students in an online class.

Monday Aug 10, 9AM

RSVP to Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu to reserve a spot and receive the Zoom meeting URL.


KODIAK QUIZZES

Learn to use Kodiak's Quiz tool to create and deliver online assessments.

Tuesday Aug 4, 9AM

RSVP to Quan.Wei@wne.edu to reserve a spot and receive the Zoom meeting URL.


KODIAK GRADES

Learn how to keep students apprised of their grades by maintaining an online gradebook with Kodiak’s Grades tool.

Thursday August 13, 1PM

RSVP to Justin.Eck@wne.edu to reserve a spot and receive the Zoom meeting URL.


KODIAK ASSIGNMENTS

Kodiak’s Assignments tool is an efficient way to assign homework and projects, collect student work, and grade and provide feedback.

Friday August 7, 9AM
Friday August 21, 9AM

RSVP to Rich.Pont@wne.edu to reserve a spot and receive the Zoom meeting URL.


ECHO360 OVERVIEW

Covers the use of the Echo360 video platform to create and distribute instructional videos.

Tuesday August 4, 1PM
Tuesday August 25, 1PM

RSVP  Steven.Narmontas@wne.edu to reserve a spot and receive the Zoom meeting URL


ZOOM RECORDINGS

Learn how to record your Zoom sessions and retrieve automatic machine generated transcriptions of your sessions.

Monday August 17, 9AM

RSVP Sharon.Benoit@wne.edu for the Zoom meeting room URL.

 

Faculty-led workshops on the practice of teaching

Instructor Presence

Monday June 8,  9AM
Wednesday June 10, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


Collaborative Learning Environments/Building a Sense of Community among Students

Monday June 22, 9AM
Wednesday June 24, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


Multiple Modalities of Instruction

Monday July 6, 9AM
Wednesday July 8th 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


 
Assessment, Feedback, & Grading Standards in AN ONLINE Environment

Monday July 20,  9AM
Wednesday July 22, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


syllabus design for online courses

Monday July 27, 9AM
Wednesday July 29, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


Student Accessibility Services

Q & A with Tynisha Henderson, Director Student Accessibility Services

Thursday July 28, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


HYbrid class design

Monday August 3, 9AM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL


FERPA & Title IX

Thursday August 27, 1PM

RSVP to Jonathan.Beagle@wne.edu to receive the Zoom meeting URL