Jump to Footer

Eight Students Inducted into the International Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society

WEDNESDAY, MAY 31, 2017 - 12:00 AM Arts and Sciences , All News

Earlier this month, the Western New England University Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society inducted eight new members. Current Sigma Tau Delta president Nina Kublan, vice president Abigail Helfrich, and Associate Professor of English Edward Wesp were present to welcome the new inductees to the ceremony in D’Amour Library.

Sigma Tau Delta is an International English Honor Society founded at Dakota Wesleyan University in 1924. It serves to offer distinction for achievements in literature, foster the study of English and promote literacy, provide culture interest in literature, and exhibit academic excellence. 

“I think it’s an amazing opportunity to be a part of this organization because it represents both the hard work I put into my classes and the grades I received. I’m excited to be a recognized member of Sigma Tau Delta,” inductee Shelby Moore explained.

At the induction ceremony, elections were held to decide new officers for the next academic year, naming Gina Lanzano as the new chapter President, Erin Nicole Conti as Vice President, Amanda Percival as Secretary, and Hannah Richards as Treasurer.

Each year, Sigma Tau Delta takes a field trip to a nearby historical author’s house or other literary attraction. In the past, Sigma Tau Delta has hosted an English Professor Appreciation week, a book drive for local charities, and a box tops collection for local schools. Each year around induction time, the society also holds an English social gathering so the University’s English majors can get to know each other and their professors.