Jump to Footer

English Proficiency

Western New England University does not have an on-campus English program, however we do offer conditional admission to students who do not meet our English language proficiency requirements. There are several ways in which you can meet our English language requirements such as through standardized tests or participation in an English language program that we have an agreement with.

Read an overview of the University in your native language!
Arabic Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Spanish Vietnamese

Language Centers

We have partnerships with the language centers listed below. If you complete the level indicated, it will satify our English language requirements.

Undergraduate Standardized Tests

Undergraduate students can use any of the following standardized tests to meet our English language requirement:

  • SAT - 450 on the English Based Reading and Writing section
  • ACT - Verbal score of 18
  • TOEFL - 79 IBT
  • IELTS - 6
  • PTE Academic - 53
  • STEP Eiken - Pre-1
  • iTEP - 4
  • Duolingo - 105 DET

Graduate Standardized Tests

Graduate students can use any of the following standardized tests to meet our English language requirement:

  • TOEFL - 79 IBT
  • IELTS - 6.5
  • PTE Academic - 58
  • STEP Eiken - 2A
  • iTEP - 4
  • Duolingo - 110 DET

Other Ways to Meet the Requirement

  • An IB grade of a 5-7 (A or B) in English or a score of 4 or better on the “English A: Higher Level examination.
  • A grade of a 3 or better on the AP English examination
  • GCE, GCSE, IGCSE or A Level Certificate with a grade of a C or better in English
  • 3 years of high school in the U.S. – dependent on the overall grades as well as whether or not the courses were ESL or not.
  • One semester of University in the U.S. with a C or better in a 100 level college English course.
  • List of countries in which English would be waived because it is the primary language:
    • Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, New Zealand, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom